Current Opportunities

(Previous research experience generally not necessary)

  • NIH summer/vacation fellowships: short-term (minimum 2 months; maximum 3 months) full-time fellowship (Stipend rate $2068/month, renewable) to work in basic/clinical research settings with faculty at the UA or other medical educational/research institutions worldwide.
  • Lillian Bilyu Banchi Scholarship Trust fellowship provides an award of $23,000 scholarship + $2,800 (mandatory UA College of Medicine tuition) + $5,000 research supplies annually for two fellows to work full-time with a Sarver Heart Center investigator.
  • MD/PhD and other combined degree formal and informal programs.
  • Research Distinction Track for academic credit.
  • Curriculum on Medical Ignorance (CMI), including the Summer Institute on Medical Ignorance, with seminars, lectures, and clinical exercises that explore the unknown.
  • Student research presentations and publications
  • Student preparation and travel to regional, national and international biomedical research meetings.
  • * Regional and national student research networking through the Western and American Federation for Medical Research (WFMR and AFMR) and other medical student organizations.
  • * Annual College of Medicine Student Research Forum
  • * Faculty and advanced student mentors to provide in-depth research experiences, career and specialty advising and contacts, and other support.

Research Prizes

  • Arizona Health Sciences Center Medical Student Research Forum prizes
  • Arizona Chapter of the American College of Cardiology Research Awards
  • Honors and Awards Committee Excellence in Research Award
  • Leonard Peltier Award for Outstanding Orthopaedic Research
  • Maria Mandell Grant ( Arizona Emergency Medicine Research Center)
  • Van Winkle Award for Excellence in Surgical Research and Supply Grants
  • John F. Myers II Prize for Outstanding Research and Creativity
  • Yuma Friends of Arizona Health Sciences Center Young Investigator Awards
  • AFMR—Student Membership and Trainee Investigator Awards
  • WFMR—Dionesia P. Bertakis, E.E. Osgood, and Klea D. Bertakis Award for Excellence in Student Research
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Research Award
  • Other medical specialty organization student research stipends & grants