Victor J. Hruby, PhD

Regents Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Professor Emeritus, Arizona Research Laboratories
Professor Emeritus of Neuroscience
  • B.S. 1960, University of North Dakota
  • M.S. 1962, University of North Dakota
  • Ph.D. 1965, Cornell University
Honors and Awards: 
1959-1960   Abbott Award; Coon Award; Magna cum laude; University of North Dakota
1961             NSF Summer Fellow; University of North Dakota
1962             Sigma Xi; University of North Dakota
1965             NSF Cooperative Fellow; Cornell University
1972             American Association Advancement of Science - Fellow
1974             American Institute of Chemists - Fellow
1975-1976   U.S. Public Health Service Senior Research Fellowship; NIH
1978-1979   Rector's Lectureship; Free University of Brussels
1979             Fulbright-Hays Fellow
1979             Pfizer Lecturer, Clinical Research Institute of Montreal
1979            University Lecturer; University of Baghdad
1981            New York Academy of Science – Fellow
1981-1982  UNESCO Lecturer; Bangalore, India
1983            Welsh Lectureship
1984            Karger Lecturer; University of Oklahoma
1984            Distinguished Alumni Lecturer; University of North Dakota
1984-1985  Guggenheim Fellowship
1985            University Lecturer; University of Texas
1986            American Diabetes Association Research Award
1986            DuPoint Distinguished Lecturer; University of Indiana
1987            Javits Neuroscience Award
1988-1996  MERIT Award – NIH
1988            Merritt-Putnam Lecturship
1989            Doctor Honorus Causa; Free University of Brussels
1989            Regents Professor; University of Arizona
1989            Selectide Corporation- Founder
1991            University Distinguished Lecturer; Creighton University
1993            Pierce (ne Merrifield) Award (APS)
1996            Bloomquist Lecturer, Cornell University
1999-2000  Humboldt Senior Scientist Award - Fellow
2000            Sieman’s Lecturer, Germany
2001            Tetrahedron - Guest Editor (with Vadim Soloshonok). Asymmetric Synthesis of Novel Sterically Constrained Amino Acids
2002            Ralph T. Hirschmann Award (ACS)
2002            Cathay Award (China)
2003            Karcher Lecturer; Univeristy of Oklahoma
2003            Abbott Lecturer; University of North Dakota
2003            Nolan and Gloria Sommer Award
2005            Arizona Art, Science & Technology Academy
2006            Eminent Scholar Lecture; University of Arizona
2006            Distinguished Career Teaching Award; University of Arizona
2006            Anniversary Medal; Polish Academy of Sciences
2007            Goodman Lecturer; University of California San Diego
2009            Arizona Technology Innovator of the Year; University of Arizona
2009            Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (ACS)
2010            Boehringer Ingelheim Lecturer; University of Montreal
2011            Murray Goodman Scientific Excellence  Mentorship Award (APS)
Major Areas of Research Interest: 
Peptide hormones and Neurotransmitters, Chemistry, Biophysics, Pharmacology, Physiology & Medical, Pain, Tolerance, Addiction, Obesity, Anorexia, Sexual Function, Pigmentation, Inflammation
Student Opportunities Through Research: 
  1. Studies on the design, synthesis and pharmacological evaluation of novel, multivalent ligands for the treatment of prolonged and neuropathic pain without toxicities or the developing of tolerance.
  2. Studies of the synthesis of multivalent ligands with reporter groups and/or drugs for the detection and/or treatment of cancer
  3. Development of melanotropin hormone and neurotransmitter analogues with biological activity profiles for the treatment of feeding disorders, pigmentary disorders, sexual disorders, pain, and immune or inflammatory responses
Selected Publications: 

I.D. Alves, Z. Salamon, E. Varga, H.I. Yamamura, G. Tollin, and V.J. Hruby. Direct Observation of G-Protein Binding to the Human δ-Opioid Receptor Using Plasmon-Waveguide Resonance Spectroscopy. J. Biol. Chem., 278, 48890-48897 (2003).

M. Cai, M. Stankova, S. J.K. Pond, A.V. Mayorov, J.W. Perry, H.I. Yamamura, D. Trivedi, and V.J. Hruby. Real Time Differentiation of G-Protein Coupled Receptor (GPCR) Agonist and Antagonist by Two Photon Fluorescence Laser Microscopy. J. Am. Chem. Soc., 126, 7160-7161 (2004).

M. Cai, A.V. Mayorov, C. Cabello, M. Stankova, D. Trivedi, and V.J. Hruby. Novel 3D Pharmacophore of α-MSH/γ-MSH Hybrids Leads to Selective Human MC1R and MC3R Analogues. J. Med. Chem., 48, 1839-1848 (2005).

J.P. Cain, A.V. Mayorov, M. Cai, H. Wang, B. Tan, K. Chandler, Y.S. Lee, R.R. Petrov, D. Trivedi, and V.J. Hruby. Design, Synthesis, and Biological Evaluation of a New Class of Small Molecule Peptide Mimetics Targeting the Melanocortin Receptors.

Bioorg. Med. Chem. Letts., 16, 5462-5467 (2006). PMC1810397

V.J. Hruby, M. Cai, J.P. Cain, A.V. Mayorov, M.M. Dedek, and D. Trivedi. Design, Synthesis and Biological Evaluation of Ligands Selective for the Melanocortin-3 Receptor. Current Topics Med. Chem., 7, 1085-1097 (2007). PMC2274922

A.V. Mayorov, M. Cai, E.S. Palmer, M.M. Dedek, J.P. Cain, A.R. Van Scoy, B. Tan, J. Vagner, D. Trivedi, and V.J. Hruby. Structure-Activity Relationships of Cyclic Lactam Analogues of α-Melanocyte-Stimulating Hormone (α-MSH) Targeting the Human Melanocortin-3 Receptor. J. Med. Chem., 51, 187-195 (2008). PMC2587288

Y.S. Lee, R.S. Agnes, J.P. Cain, V. Kulkarni, M. Cai, C. Salibay, K. Ciano, R. Petrov, A. Mayorov, J. Vagner, D. Trivedi, P. Davis, S-W. Ma, J. Lai, F. Porreca, R. Vardanyan, and V.J. Hruby. Opioid and Melanocortin Receptors: Do They Have Overlapping Pharmacophores? Peptide Science, 90, 433-438 (2007). PMC2693099

L. Doedens, F. Opperer, M. Cai, J.G. Beck, M. Dedek, E. Palmer, V.J. Hruby, and H. Kessler Multiple N-Methylationof MT-II Backbone Amide Bonds Leads to Melanocortin Receptor Subtype hMC1R Selectivity: Pharmacological and Conformational Studies J. Amer. Chem. Soc., 132, 8115-8128 (2010). NIHMSID 208710.

D. Torino, A. Mollica, F. Pinnen, F. Feliciani, G. Lucente, G. Fabrizi, G. Portalone, P. Davis, J. Lai, S-W. Ma, F. Porreca, and V.J. Hruby Synthesis and Evaluation of New Endomorphin-2 Analogues Containing (Z)-Œ±,Œ≤-Didehydrophenylalanine (ŒîZPhe) Residues. J. Med. Chem. 53 (11), 4550–4554 (2010).

J.S. Josan, H.L. Handl, R Sankanaryanan, L. Xu, R.M. Lynch, J. Vagner, E.A. Mash, V.J. Hruby and R.J. Gillies. Cell Specific Targeting by Heterovalent Ligands. Bioconjugate Chemistry, 22, 1270-1278 (2011)

Sponsored Research Through MSRP: 

Kimberly Hill (MSRP 2012): " Elucidation of Dynorphin a Action at Bradykinin Receptors in CNS and Drug Design for Antagonists at Said Receptors." 

NIH High School Student Research Program: 

 -Joshua Carlin, Basis North High School, 2015

Tuesday, December 15, 2015